Literacy Leader – Week Zero

Week Zero.

During a recent in-service I was asked to present Literacy Across the Curriculum to my colleagues.  My opening gambit was to highlight the simple statement that Literacy is the responsibility of all teaching staff; I opted to focus on the inextricable link between language and learning.

So the whole-school literacy initiative is underway.

However, it was, as David Corson warns, seen as an “act of imperialism” by the English Department, and less than constructive feedback has been detected.

Still, thanks to the dedicated contribution from my peers from the three other contributing departments – and the near-nightly coverage on the mainstream news! – S1 pupils successfully delivered viewpoints on Mars across a variety of subject disciplines.

The House Time activity – initially one week – has now been granted an additional week for writing support. 

Leave a comment